Header image  
State of Louisiana  
 
 

ATC Responsible Vendor (Certification/Enforcement)

Act 1054 of the 1997 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature enacted R.S. 26:931 et seq., to establish the Responsible Vendor Program to educate vendors, their employees and customers about selling, serving, and consuming alcoholic beverages in a responsible manner. Participation by all vendors shall be mandatory effective January 1, 2000.

Under the authority of R.S. 26:933 et seq,. and in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, has enacted Chapter 5 of LAC 55:VII, pertaining to the Responsible Vendor Program.

The Responsible Vendor Program is intended to educate vendors and their employees and customers about selling, serving, and consuming beverage alcohol, tobacco and tobacco products and prevent the misuse, illegal use, and abuse of alcohol.

Any employee of a vendor who is authorized to sell or serve beverage alcohol in the normal course of his or her employment or deals with customers who purchase or consume beverage alcohol must successfully attend and pass a Responsible Vendor training course and obtain a Responsible Vendor Server Permit from an approved Responsible Vendor Provider within 45 days of the first day of employment.

Server permits are valid for a period of four years from the completion of an approved alcohol training course. Every server permit shall expire on the last day of the month, four years after the month that the server successfully completed the alcohol server education course.

To be eligible for a refresher of a server permit, the server shall again attend and successfully pass an alcohol server's education course and examination given by an approved provider. Servers must attend an approved alcohol training course every four years.

Lost permits shall be canceled and a replacement issued by the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control after the server submits an Affidavit of Lost Permit and $5 fee.

The server permit is issued to a server following completion of an alcohol server education course and all refresher courses. The server permit is issued to the individual employee, not the vendor for whom the employee works, and is valid statewide during the four-year period.

Whenever a server is employed in the service of alcohol, their permit and one Legal Form of Identification shall be available on the premises for inspection by agents of the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control or other peace officers. An addendum to the Responsible Vendor Law regarding identification can be downloaded here.

The following shall be evidence of violation:

Failure to obtain a server's permit.
A server's refusal or failure to make their permit available on the premises for immediate inspection by authorized agents or peace officers.
Illegal possession of a permit defined as falsification, keeping or possessing a server permit contrary to lawful provisions.

Not withstanding any criminal actions taken, the commissioner of the Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control may issue administrative violation notices to any holder of a server permit for noncompliance or for any violation, including the imposition of fines and/or suspension or revocation of the permit.

Extra Responsible Vendor Material

Responsible Vendor Courses Download
Responsible Vendor Provider Application Download
Responsible Vendor Trainer Application Download
Responsible Vendor Handbook Download 
Responsible Vendor Roster Form Download